Skip to main content

Temporary Protected Status Designations for Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone

Archived Content

The information on this page is out of date. However, some of the content may still be useful, so we have archived the page.

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) invited you to participate in a stakeholder teleconference on Tuesday, May 12, from 3 to 4 p.m. (Eastern) to discuss the Temporary Protected Status (TPS) designations for Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone.

Due to the outbreak of Ebola virus disease in West Africa, Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson designated Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone for TPS for 18 months, effective November 21, 2014, through May 21, 2016. As a result, eligible nationals of Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone (and people without nationality who last habitually resided in one of those three countries) may apply for TPS if they have continuously resided in the United States since November 20, 2014, and meet other eligibility requirements. 

The 180-day registration period to apply began on November 21, 2014, and ends on May 20, 2015. Individuals granted TPS will not be removed from the United States, as long as their TPS remains in effect, and they may obtain an Employment Authorization Document (EAD).  You can find more information in the Federal Register notices published Nov. 21, 2014, and at

During this teleconference, USCIS officials will explained the registration procedures, provided information on EADs and fee waivers, and responded to your questions and concerns.

Meeting Invitation (PDF, 301.26 KB)

Last Reviewed/Updated: