10.3 Types of Discrimination Prohibited by Title VII and Other Federal Anti-Discrimination Laws

Title VII and other federal laws also prohibit employment discrimination based on national origin, race, color, religion, sex, age, disability, and genetic information. These laws also protect workers from retaliation. The EEOC has jurisdiction over employers who employ 15 or more employees for 20 or more weeks in the preceding or current calendar year and prohibits discrimination in any aspect of employment, including:

  • Hiring and firing;
  • Compensation, assignment, or classification of employees;
  • Transfer, promotion, layoff, or recall;
  • Job advertisements;
  • Recruitment;
  • Testing;
  • Using company facilities;
  • Training and apprenticeship programs;
  • Fringe benefits;
  • Pay, retirement plans, and leave; or
  • Other terms and conditions of employment.
Last Reviewed/Updated: 04/27/2020