DHS Secretary Designates Burma (Myanmar) for TPS

Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro N. Mayorkas designated Burma (also known as Myanmar) for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for 18 months, effective May 25, 2021, through Nov. 25, 2022. Eligible Burmese nationals (and individuals having no nationality who last habitually resided in Burma) may submit an initial TPS registration application during the 180-day registration period that begins May 25, 2021 and ends on Nov. 22, 2021. TPS applicants may also apply for an Employment Authorization Document (EAD). If they apply for an EAD, it will have a Category Code of A12 or C19.

For additional information, view the Federal Register notice designating Burma for TPS as well as the USCIS TPS webpage.

Last Reviewed/Updated: